top of page

Review: Maybelline Dream Velvet Foundation

Hi everyone!


Oh my goodness, I skipped an entire month without writing anything! The past few weeks have been so busy: I was out of town for a week to handle a project in Davao, and when I got back all my time has gone to catching up on paperwork and projects I didn't bring with me during that one week + a bunch more projects lined up for the upcoming "-ber" months. Not really enjoying the amount of work I've been doing lately, but something I have been absolutely loving is the Maybelline Dream Velvet Soft-Matte Hydrating Foundation.


If you've been reading my blog for a while, you'll know I have extremely oily skin, so I like my bases to be matte and stay matte. So when I first heard about this foundation, I shut down any ideas of trying it because the word "hydrating" was in the product name. However, seeing so many rave reviews made me cave in eventually, and I'm so glad I did because this foundation is awesome!


Pretty packaging :)

This foundation is housed in a soft squeeze-y tube that I love because it makes dispensing the product easy, though I sometimes end up squeezing out more than I need. The color scheme and overall look is very reminiscent of the Dream Matte and Dream Satin product lines Maybelline has come out with in past releases, and I believe the entire Dream collection is best for individuals who want very smooth, silky, "dreamy" skin - if there is such a thing.


The shade I have is in Ivory, which leans a little more beige than I would like, and is a shade lighter for my skin. However, since most foundations oxidize on me, I tend to go for lighter shades so that by the middle of the day, my face will match the color of my neck and chest. But this might be a bit too light, so maybe I'll go for the next shade. Unfortunately, when the Maybelline Dream Velvet Foundation was released here in the Phlippines, Ivory was not part of the limited shade range offered, which means I will have to hunt for this online should I choose to repurchase. I got mine for PHP 400 from bonmarchepage.com, one of my favorite places to shop for makeup since my college days.


Hand swatch

When applied, it has a soft mousse-y consistency that allows it to spread and blend out easily on the skin. Do take note that I always use brushes since they're easier and faster to use AND CLEAN, so I can't say how this will work with sponges. This foundation feels lightweight on my face and it gives my skin a smooth, airbrushed look. I'd say "Velvet" and "Soft-Matte" are pretty accurate descriptions for the beautiful finish. I find this has medium buildable coverage, enough to cover my problem areas like redness and dark spots, but I don't think I can get this to full coverage because piling this on can make it look cakey. I would also recommend properly prepping your skin because it can still accentuate any dryness or flakiness on the skin.


For a hydrating foundation, I was surprised by how nicely it wore on my very oily skin. Don't get me wrong; after three to four hours, my face was already starting to get shiny. But if you have an oil slick for a face, that's to be expected even with primer AND setting powder. However, it did not break down or slip around my face even at the end of an eight-hour work day (with the exception of my nose where I sweat profusely), and a sheet of blotting paper plus a little dusting of powder made everything look nice and flawless again. Here are a few photos of me wearing this foundation:


My face looks very pink. :P

As you can see, it does make my face look a little lighter compared to my chest, but they do start to match each other as the foundation wears throughout the day. Still pretty nice, right? In summary, I really do like the Maybelline Dream Velvet Foundation, and I consider it one of my favorites. It has great coverage and a beautiful finish, and while it's not perfect in oil control, the lasting power is still pretty impressive.


And that's it for this review! What do you think of this foundation? Will you try it, or have you tried it? And what's your current favorite foundation lately? Let me know in the comments below. Thank you to all of you who read my blog! I missed blogging so much, and I'll write more now that I have the Wix mobile app, so please bear with me during these busy months. I hope you have an awesome day or night ahead, whenever and wherever you're reading this, and always take care! Till next time! :)


♥♥♥



All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

FOLLOW ME
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Bloglovin'
RSS Feed

SUBSCRIBE

ARCHIVES
RECENT POSTS

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

bottom of page