top of page

Review: Fashion21 Ultimate Cover BB Cream + Concealer

Hi everyone!


Is it just me, or did the monsoon season come early this year? Global warming might be the culprit for this unusual weather activity. It's been raining on and off since the month began, which usually starts later in the year by around August. Besides the unavoidable hassle this brings to commuting, the intermittent downpours are also making matters worse in heat and humidity. And what does that mean for me? Makeup meltdown, of course! I already have a hard time preventing my makeup from sliding off my face from oil and sweat in regular hot weather, but the rains have made everything much more difficult. Luckily, I've been able to get through my day and still look fresh by nighttime thanks to the Fashion21 Ultimate Cover BB Cream + Concealer.



Relatively new to Fashion21 shelves, and I picked it up ago out of curiosity about three weeks ago, since I found the packaging rather interesting. I got two products for the price of PHP 225: a tube of lightweight bb cream with a smooth and slightly whipped consistency, like a lighter and thinner version of the Revlon whipped foundation (one of my favorites); and on the cap is a short stump of concealer that is equally lightweight but more creamy - it almost feels like it has an oil component to it from how smooth and silky it feels to the touch. The concept of a base + concealer combined in the same packaging seems very convenient, but I find the screw-on cap can be rather cumbersome and messy.



Both products offer light buildable coverage on their own, and I can get maybe light to medium coverage when used together. However, I find the concealer's consistency prevents it from being as buildable as I would like it, so I oftentimes find myself pairing the bb cream with a higher-coverage concealer. I have it in Shade 1, which matches my skintone really well, so I recommend this to anyone who has light / bordering on pale skin with a very apparent yellow undertone. But if you have a different coloring than mine, they have 2 other shades than run a bit darker. Let's check out some swatches:


The bb cream is a nice yellow shade that matches my skintone quite well, while the concealer leans rather pink but blends in with my coloring when I use powder. My favorite method to apply bb cream is with a flat top foundation brush. I squeeze about an MnM-sized amount to the back of my hand and apply one thin layer on my entire face and neck, then I just add a bit more on the areas that need a bit more coverage. On the other hand, the concealer works better when applied directly from the stick onto the skin and blended out with both my fingers and the same flat top foundation brush. However, because my undereyes require a bit more coverage than it offers, I opt to use my Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Sand Sable instead, and it looks really nice with the bb cream.

I have rather oily skin and I tend to sweat a lot, so my foundation looks rather hulas by the end of the day. But this surprisingly looks good even at the end of the day! Of course my makeup won't look as fresh and as flawless as it did when I put it on in the morning, but it has decent coverage and staying power that a quick blot and powder touch-up can make me look refreshed. Here's the bb cream in action:


Pretty nice, right? It's been my current go-to for the past weeks and I haven't wanted to pick up anything else. All in all, I think the Fashion21 Ultimate Cover BB Cream + Concealer is a great affordable base for every day wear. I think I'm almost out of it, though, so I'll probably pick up another tube soon.


And that's it for this post! Thank you so much for dropping by, and I hope to talk to you again in my next entry. Till next time! Take care! :)


♥♥♥



All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.






Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

FOLLOW ME
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Bloglovin'
RSS Feed

SUBSCRIBE

ARCHIVES
RECENT POSTS

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

bottom of page