top of page

Comparison Review: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream, Liquid Suede, and Lip Lingerie


Hi everyone!

I was organizing my makeup drawers the other day, and I noticed that I've accumulated so many liquid lipsticks in the past few months that I had to destash a bunch just to make room. I then realized I haven't really featured any of them on the blog yet, so I thought I would start by talking about some from one of my favorite affordable brands: NYX Cosmetics! They make really great lip products, and today we'll take a look at three of their liquid lipstick offerings:


NYX SOFT MATTE LIP CREAM IN CANNES

Released in 2010 - yup, it's been that long - the NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams took the beauty world by storm, and they still retain their status as cult favorites to this day. Within those six years in the market, the collection has expanded to a whopping 34 shades that includes nudes, brights, vampy shades, and more. I've gone through several tubes of these, and now I'm left with just one in the shade Cannes - a mix between pink, peach and coral shades. (My shade descriptions are horrible, so I apologize in advance!)


The lip cream is housed in a small plastic tube that supposedly mimics the color of the actual product - I used to think it was clear plastic. The rubberized black cap gets so dirty so fast, and it holds a traditional doe foot applicator which makes it easy to spread the lip cream on the lips. The formula itself is rather pleasant with a mousse-like whipped texture that applies rather thin, but a little layering will build up the opacity and pigmentation. The wear time is not as impressive, as the color disappears completely after eating or drinking, and it pretty much transfers on anything my lips touch. Having a "soft matte" finish, I find it neither drying nor hydrating, but it does accentuate any dryness or flaking.


For a product released by a US brand, they're relatively affordable and easier to track down online or in physical stores, as I've seen these sold for PHP 300 and below on Instagram and kiosks at some malls. HOWEVER, a lot of counterfeits have also made their way into the market, so make sure to get yours from legit sellers. With so many shades to choose from at such an affordable price, I will always keep at least one tube in my collection. Also, isn't it adorable how the shades are named after cities around the world? They even have one named Manila, but I'm eyeing Rome and Budapest.

NYX LIQUID SUEDE CREAM LIPSTICK IN SOFT-SPOKEN

I went on a crazy shopping spree during my holiday vacation last year, and one of my favorite purchases is the NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick, which were still relatively new at the time. I picked up the shade Soft-Spoken, a beautiful brown-mauve shade, and I really wish I got more because it's a great lip product.


The packaging is really cute - the entire thing is made of opaque plastic with the body mimicking the lip color, and the black cap has a crystal-cut design on top. Another awesome feature the Liquid Suedes have is the wider flat paddle-shaped applicator, which makes spreading the product easier and faster, and the sides of the applicator also help make clean lines around my lips. It's super flexible and feels very plush when I use it, making the application experience even more enjoyable.


Compared to the Soft Matte Lip Creams, this has a runnier liquid consistency that goes on more pigmented and opaque. It never fully dries down to a matte finish but stays rather creamy with a slight sheen. Despite this, the wear time is relatively good and it remains comfortable on the lips when worn throughout the day. However, it isn't completely transfer-proof so I still need to reapply after eating a heavy meal (though it can survive if I eat drier food). I also find the formula to be more forgiving on dry lips (still neither drying nor hydrating), and it helps to mask any flakiness or lines I have.


These are slowly gaining traction locally and have launched on BeautyMNL last month, but they're still relatively harder to find online and pricier than the Soft Matte Lip Creams. Despite the higher price point and additional effort needed to purchase one, I still think they're amazing quality and I will definitely pick up more - I'm planning on getting Sandstorm next.

NYX LIP LINGERIE LIQUID LIPSTICK

Because every single makeup brand had been coming out with liquid-to-matte lipsticks, of course NYX had to release their own version, so then came along the Lip Lingeries. I'm a sucker for neutral shades, so when I saw the entire collection consisted completely of neutrals in various tones and depths, you bet I wanted to get my hands on a couple. I managed to snag Ruffle Trim, a peachy nude with a hint of pink, and Exotic, a deep rusty nude that looks more like a muted red than a neutral color (but still very pretty).


Packaging-wise, a lot of people said they look like Kylie Lip Kit copycats, and I just have to disagree. NYX has been doing that sleek, black, minimalistic packaging waaaaaaaaaayyyyy before Kylie even started her brand. So if anyone's copying anyone, it sure as heck ain't NYX. I got a bit rant-y there, but let's continue, shall we? Unlike the previous two lippis, these come in sturdy-feeling clear plastic packaging so what you see is what you get, and the actual tube is slim and very tall - it's the tallest liquid lipstick I own. Similar to the Liquid Suedes, the applicator is quite flat, but it's smaller and less flexible which I find gives me more control and precision in application.


Similar to other liquid lipsticks, they apply with a creamy formula that dries down to a long-lasting matte finish. However, I notice that they can sometimes feel a bit waxy on the lips, particularly Ruffle Trim. Compared to the first two products, these set almost immediately and do not budge even with drinking at eating, except if I'm eating super oily or super wet. They initially set to a slightly tacky finish that can be rather drying by the end of the day, and when I don't prep my lips properly, I find these accentuated any flaking or lip lines I had.


I don't think you can get these anywhere else but through online resellers, and they're selling for more than the Liquid Suedes. I think they're still worth looking into, though; they wear decently and comfortably if I properly prep my lips. All in all, I quite enjoy these liquid lipsticks and I'll keep using the shades I have. And maybe pick up Bedtime Flirt if I feel like it.


Comparison swatches from left to right: Cannes, Soft-Spoken, Ruffle Trim, and Exotic. As you can see, the first two have a sheen to them (but that'll tone down after several minutes), while the latter two are completely matte. If I had to make recommendations, my personal favorite would be the Liquid Suedes because the formula is really comfortable and I don't mind paying a bit more for it. If you do mind the price, the Soft Matte Lip Creams are a nice option if you're on a tighter budget and want more colors to choose from. And if your want your lip color to last beyond one meal, then the Lip Lingeries are for you.


And that's it for this post! Have you tried any of these NYX lippies? Which were your favorites, or which would you like to try next? Let me know in the comments! I appreciate your thoughts and you dropping by this week. You can get updates on my latest posts by subscribing to my blog though email, or by following me on Bloglovin', or on Instagram where I also post semi-daily beauty snippets. I hope you guys have a wonderful day or night ahead, whenever and wherever you're reading this. Till next time! Take care! :)


♥♥♥

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

FOLLOW ME
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Bloglovin'
RSS Feed

SUBSCRIBE

ARCHIVES
RECENT POSTS

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

bottom of page