top of page

Monthly Favorites: March 2016

Hi everyone!


I just CANNOT believe we're already in April! Why is time moving so fast? It could be that I'm busy as heck at work - I'm currently employed in a marketing and advertising agency, and we have a lot of projects lined up for the summer. So while everybody else is planning or going on vacation, I'll be slaving away in front of a desk or on the field. However, my job does allow me to travel to different places around the country for the events we organize while I also earn to sustain myself / my makeup addiction, so I guess it's not that bad. And speaking of addiction, here's what I've been hooked on for the month on March:

TOOLS


Beauty Cosmetics Bullet Blending Eyeshadow Brush: Although I've had this for several years already, it's only been recently that I've really come to love and appreciate how it works. Compared to traditional blending brushes that are large and fluffy, this is a lot smaller and less fluffy but that works to its advantage especially for my small eyes. It fits really well in my crease and does a great job at applying and blending out my eyeshadows. Did I mention I only got this for ₱100?


Real Techniques Base Eyeshadow Brush: I've been slacking on my eyeshadow game for a while now, but this brush helps me apply and blend eyeshadows so well that I only need 3 shades to create a decent eye look. I love this especially for applying deeper shades in my crease and even deeper shades on the outer corner of my eye, and this works well to blend out shadows on my lower lashline as well. This is probably the best out of the Starter Set, but that' just my opinion.


Paddle Brush: Since the Artis Oval Brushes made their debut on Instagram and YouTube, the global beauty community has gone wild and practically every prominent content creator in the known world has raved about them. And of course, cheaper alternatives have followed suit and made their own versions - an example of which is this "Anastasia Beverly Hills" paddle brush. I'm not getting into details about the brand, but the brush itself is rather nice. I don't really use it for foundation because it's freaking tiny, but I find it works well for blending out my under eye concealer. I don't know how it compares to the original since those will cost me an arm and a leg ($35 for a tiny circle brush!), but I like how this performs and I'm interested in trying out more.


e.l.f. Blush Brush: This ain't no blush brush because y'all see how tiny it is, right? The size may not work well for my cheeks, but it does go in tandem with the paddle brush in my under eye area - but this one's for setting concealer with powder. The size and shape of the bristles fit nicely around the contours of my under eye, and I've also been enjoying setting my eye primer with it too.


Forever21 Cleansing Pad: Despite being made to help clean my face, I use this to clean my brushes. I have tried the Brush Egg before and although it worked okay, I didn't like that I had to stick that onto one hand, leaving me with only one free hand to manage my brushes. This cleansing pad has a suction cup part underneath, so I just stick that to the surface of my sink and have two free hands. Plus, the bristles are soft and small, and are great for getting dirt and product from off my brushes.

SKINCARE


Jersey Shore Sun Mongongo Lip Balm: I know I already mentioned this in last month's favorites, but I just had to mention it again - it's that awesome! My lips have gotten much smoother and less chappy ever since I started using it and it still smells soooooooo yummy. I must get more! Bioré UV Perfect Face Milk: After trying out their cleansing oil (which has been a favorite since last year but I keep forgetting to photograph it!), I've been eager to test out more products from the brand so I picked up this "Face Milk" about two weeks back and I love it! Compared to other facial sunscreens I've tried in the past, this has the lightest consistency and feel ever, and it leaves a very beautiful matte finish on my skin. Folks with oily skin like me still shouldn't skip out on primer, but for running errands nearby my house, I just apply this with a bit of concealer and powder for a fresh face. Great product for under ₱400.


Olay Pore Minimizing Toner: Although cleansers should clean your skin, they sometimes leave some dirt or residue behind, and toners help remove those leftovers. My skin feels so clean and looks mattified whenever I use this in the morning. I've tried other witch hazel toners before, but this is the only one I've liked so far, and it smells good too.

FACE


The Face Shop Oil Control Water Cushion in Natural Beige: Having oily skin, I tend to shy away / hate looking dewy, because there is a very thin line between having healthy-looking glowy skin and having a greasy face. While cushions generally provide a luminous finish, this one actually dries down matte but turns rather glowy as my natural oils come out throughout the day. However, this doesn't make me shine like a disco ball; instead, I'm left with skin that looks fresh and alive and I just love it. I love, love, love it! Never thought I would, but I do. I still need a primer and powder, though, but I really don't mind. If only they came out with more shades, it would be perfect. But besides that, it's a total winner!


4U2 dreamGirl Faith BB Cream + L'Oreal True Match Liquid Foundation in Gold Porcelain: I've already reviewed this bb cream so you know why I love it, but I find that it's also great for mixing with other foundations, specifically the new L'Oreal True Match. This reformulation contains very fine gold flecks for some added glow while still having a matte finish, but it does not stay matte long enough for me and it also oxidizes a bit. When mixed together, they create a hybrid shade, formula and finish that actually works for my oily skin. BUUUUUUT the L'Oreal foundation might be breaking me out a bit, so I'll just have to keep testing it out.


L'Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Makeup Extender Setting Spray: When I saw that L'Oreal was having a sale, I did not hesitate to grab a bottle of this. I've tried the NYX Matte Setting Spray and that sucked, so I was hoping this would work better. And it really delivered! I use it underneath and over my makeup, and although I don't find that it mattifies my face that much, my makeup actually stays put longer. Added bonus: this retails for ₱500 locally, which is a steal compared to how much this sells online.



EYES


NYX Eyebrow Cake in Taupe/Ash: I switched up my brow routine a few months ago because I noticed that they looked too warm compared to my hair color. So when I started using a more neutral brown pencil for my brows, I topped that with the shade Taupe from this duo, and I think it helps my brows match my hair color better because it has a cooler tone.


L'Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes Waterproof Mascara: This could possibly be the best drugstore mascara I've ever tried. I know I talked about the Maybelline Lash Sensational last month and I said I loved it, but I love this so much more. One of the issues I have with my long, downward, stick-straight lashes is that they tend to bunch up when I layer on mascara. But this does such an amazing job for separation and lengthening to give the appearance of full, soft eyelashes. It also gives me a bit of volume and holds a curl all day, and I've received a ton of compliments whenever I've had this on.


Essence Long Lasting Eye Pencil in Hot Chocolate: Although I like adding depth on my lower lashline and waterline when I create darker looks, black tends to be a bit too harsh and messy for my liking. So instead, I've been reaching for this brown liner and I've been liking it. I also like that this comes in twist-up packaging so it's easier to use.


Rimmel Exaggerate Waterproof Eye Definer in In The Nude: If I don't have brown in my waterline, I have a nude in there to open my eyes and make me look more awake. The waterproof formula helps it stay on despite being in a rather moist place, and it's mechanical so it doesn't need any sharpening.


DIY Eyeshadow Palette: I own a bunch of eyeshadow palettes that I really swear by, but nothing beats shades that have been personally handpicked because I've been using this palette whenever I do an eye look. All of these are warm shades, and I particularly love the mattes in here. If you're curious about the brands and shades I have in this palette, let me know in the comments and maybe I'll do a separate post on it.

LIPS

Ever Bilena Advance Supreme Lipstick in Amethyst Rose: Purple is my favorite color, but not on the lips. That is until I picked this lipstick up because it's such a beautiful purple-plum shade that I know will suit so many skintones. For a matte lipstick that sells for less than ₱200, the finish is very comfortable and non-drying, and it's also very pigmented and long-lasting. This is a steal!


Maybelline ColorSensational Creamy Matte Lipstick in Clay Crush: This was the shade I was originally interested in when I went to Ulta last year, but I opted for Nude Nuance and regretted not getting both. Luckily, I was able to find one for cheap on eBay Philippines because this is such a pretty peach! I'm not a fan of peach/orange on the lips, but this is actually flattering on me and the formula is that same comfortable and hydrating one we've come to know and love from Maybelline. This isn't locally available, but I heard it will be pretty soon.



And that's it for this month's favorites! What have you been loving recently? Let me know in the comments below. To stay updated on my blog, follow me on Bloglovin' to get notified about latest posts, or on Instagram to see my more-or-less daily beauty snippets. Thank you so much for visiting my blog and spending time with me. Till next time! Take care! :)


♥♥♥


All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

FOLLOW ME
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Bloglovin'
RSS Feed

SUBSCRIBE

ARCHIVES
RECENT POSTS

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

bottom of page