top of page

Empties # 1

Hi everyone!

It's officially summer here in the Philippines! Well, technically, it's always summer here because it's always so darn hot - there's just "dry summer" the first half of the year and "wet summer" later on. So I guess I should be saying "It's officially dry summer here in the Philippines" and it is hot, hot HOT! I can feel the heat not only from the blazing sun, but also from the wind. It's everywhere. Goodbye, winter winds from neighboring countries. You will be missed. :( And while I bid adieu to the cooler weather, I'll also be giving a farewell speech for the empties I've used up and been amassing for this post. I finished some of these waaaaaaay before March, so let's dig into my pile!


SKINCARE


Celeteque DermoScience Acne Clearing Facial Moisturizer Gel: I ran out of this a long time ago, but I still remember how awesome it was to use. I got this based on an officemate's recommendation to help treat my then awful acne breakout, and this stuff really worked only after two days of use. It minimized the inflammation of my pimples especially on my forehead without actually drying and agititating my skin, and stayed in my acne skincare regimen for a good while.


Benzac AC: I mentioned this as my Holy Grail spot treatment in my last monthly favorites, which is why I already finished two tubes of it over the past year. One tube lasts a long time, especially if used only on specific areas on the face; for me, it's about 6 months before I run out. This really works for my skin and helps dry out my zits in 1-3 days faster than if I leave them alone, and has been a complete skin saver because my acne has gotten so much better ever since.


Clarins Moisture Replenishing Lip Balm: This mini came in a complimentary in-flight toiletry kit my dad gets whenever he flies PAL business class. I wouldn't rush out to get a new one (because Clarins is expensive, y'all!), but it's a nice lip balm to use.


The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil: Before discovering Benzac AC, I gave tea tree oil a try because I used this back in high school and I recalled it working for me, but this wasn't enough for my adult acne. I did finish it up though, and I recommend this for people who prefer a more natural method for treating pimples and acne.


Wellspring of Morocco Argan Oil: I heard about this last year when argan oil was becoming the "it" ingredient in the beauty world and after learning about its benefits, I immediately purchased this sample bottle. I saw some immediate results after using the oil three times as part of my nighttime skincare routine - my zits and dark spots decreased a little - but it wasn't too drastic.


The Body Shop Elderflower Unperfumed Eye Gel: While buying presents for my folks, I chanced upon this with and picked it up with the thought my eyebags needing to be saved from late nights. This gives my under eye area some nice moisture, and that's about it.


Nichido Moisturizing Make-up Remover: I tried this after the Ever Bilena Makeup Remover - run away from this because it doesn't work well and it burns my eyes and it's just horrible - and this is a much better affordable option. This doesn't sting my eyes and it smells rather pleasant, and it actually works okay with regular waterproof makeup, with the exception of L'Oreal waterproof mascaras (those need divine intervention).

FACE

Rimmel Stay Matte Primer: This was the only primer that actually worked on my oily skin, but for some reason it isn't as mattifying as it used to me. I'm thinking my skin became even oilier when I visited the US because the weather was so dry, but that's just a theory. I'm still on my second tube and I'll probably look for other options once I run out.


Rimmel Fix & Perfect Pro Primer: My first primer ever! My aunt sent this to me from the US and my college skin loved this stuff! It came through with most of its claims, but it wouldn't work for me today.


4U2 dreamGirl Faith BB Cream: Previously my favorite / Holy Grail bb cream which I reviewed here. I still really like it, but I prefer mixing it with another foundation I'll be reviewing on the blog soon. I have another tube already open, but I will definitely repurchse when I run out.


Revlon Colorstay Whipped Foundation in Buff: Still my favorite / Holy Grail foundation. This has great coverage and lasting power on my oily, blemish-prone skin. However, since I have a bunch of different bases in rotation, I won't be rushing to buy another one. The shade Buff is a bit light for me, but I add a drop of a darker foundation or use a slightly darkek powder to help match the color of my chest.


EYES

Etude House Color My Brows Mascara in Rich Brown: I really wanted to love this. The teeny-tiny brush is the perfect size and shape to go over and through my brow hairs to apply the product, which actually holds my stubborn brows in place. However, the shade is just too brown which I felt didn't complimented my hair color, and this stuff is so freaking expensive for the little amount you get.


Maybelline The Hypercurl Volum' Express Waterproof Mascara: This is the older packaging, but my verdict remains the same: it's a great mascara for everyday use - the formula is really waterproof, it holds a curl decently, the brush is a nice size and shape for both upper and lower lashes, and it's freaking cheap. I always have a tube of this open and I will continue to get more.


L'Oreal Voluminous Butterfly and Butterfly Intenza Waterproof Mascaras: These mascaras are essentially the same in formula, with the main difference between them being the brush shape that I'll be linking below. Like all L'Oreal waterproof mascaras I've tried, these are such a pain to remove. I did really like the volume they gave my lashes and staying power for both these mascaras, but they're not my favorite.


And that's it for my first empties post! There are a lot of products that I've used up but were not included here because I may have lost or thrown away the packaging, so I'll try to be more careful about that next time. What are your most used products? Let me know in the comments down below. Don't forget to follow me on Bloglovin' to keep up with my latest posts. Thank you so much for dropping by. Till next time! Take care!


♥♥♥

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

FOLLOW ME
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Bloglovin'
RSS Feed

SUBSCRIBE

ARCHIVES
RECENT POSTS

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

bottom of page