top of page

Review: Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque

Hi everyone!

It's been a hot minute since I last wrote a review. The busy bee in me has just been buzzing since January, whether I like it or not. Working in a start-up marketing and advertising agency is so time-consuming and stressful, but what job isn't nowadays? My routine has been to wake up early and get home late while soaking up road pollution during my commute + more work from home so I sleep around or past midnight. Oh, and did I mention that time of the month joined in? #hassle


Combining the lack of sleep with hormones gone wild definitely took a toll on my face, but because of a well-maintained skincare regiment and the Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque, I made it through with only one major pimple but pretty much clear skin!

I purchased this masque from Healthy Options for around Php 300; I don't remember the exact price but it won't cost you too much. It comes in this pretty green and blue squeeze tube bottle, which is said to be the new packaging, and I really like the colors! Gives off that "I'll put your face on ice" kinda vibe. Haha. :)) I have tried other face masks that come in potted or jar packaging, and those were always more messy to use and also posed an issue with sanitation, so I really like that this one comes in an easy to use squeeze tube.

Directions on the back of the tube say to leave the masque on for five to ten minutes and to wash off with warm water. I did try following the exact instructions earlier on when I first got this masque around February last year, but I found it the effect just the same if I leave it on for longer (about 30 minutes or more) and wash it off with cold water - but that's just me. There's more information on the back as to how not to use it, what ingredients it's made of and all that jazz.

Once you squeeze the product out, it looks like this: a light mint green whipped mousse that sort of reminds me of wasabi, but with a minty hue and scent. I find that a little goes a long way to cover the entire surface of my face, but I like to layer it on a bit on certain areas where I have more oil or breakouts. When first applied to the face, it gives off a hot tingling sensation that later turns cooling on the skin. Think of it as menthol candy but on your face. I doesn't feel too uncomfortable on my skin; however, when I feel a bit of sensitivity, I wait for it to dry in front of a fan or air-conditioner to lessen the intensity of the tingling and go straight to the cooling sensation. Once it dries, if feels neither hot nor cold, and it gets a little stiff, but not to the point where I can't move my face.


After washing it off, my face feels cleaner and less oily, and my whiteheads, blackheads and pimples actually get pulled up to the surface and dry out faster than they would if left alone. I use this whenever I feel like my skin needs a detox and it does help suck out the impurities and improve my acne. This masque really works and has become part of my HG skincare routine for my oily and acne-prone skin. I don't find that it drastically made a change in my skin the first few times I used it, but it does make a difference with continued use. Here's what I look like with the masque on:



And that's it for this review! I hope you guys find this helpful, and that you're all doing well. Let me know your favorite face masks at the moment in the comments below - I would love to discover something new. Take care and until next time! Bye!


♥♥♥

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

FOLLOW ME
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Bloglovin'
RSS Feed

SUBSCRIBE

ARCHIVES
RECENT POSTS

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

bottom of page