top of page

Haul: Holiday Vacation

Hi everyone!

Today's haul is for the makeup I managed to amass while on holiday. I'm not gonna talk about how much I spent on these (A LOT), so don't ask. I will, however, talk about some of the products I have used and let you know my initial thoughts on them, and more thorough details will be saved for future reviews. Let's get started!


FACE


Rimmel Stay Matte Primer: I picked up another one because this is the only drugstore primer that has ever managed to control my oil and keep my makeup intact for more than two hours. It keeps most of my face shine-free for about 4-5 hours before I find the need to blot.


Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Sand Sable: This was initially to substitute my HG concealer that got phased out, but truth be told, it has completely been replaced by this amazing concealer. I wish Maybelline would bring this to the Philippines because everyone would just love it.


Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil Light: This was a hand-me-down from my sister (I'm the eldest of three, and the youngest doesn't wear makeup so...) that has made a permanent change in my skincare routine. I FREAKING LOVE THIS STUFF! I use it as my nighttime moisturizer and it makes my skin feel so soft and silky the next day, and even leaves me with a nice glow. It's rather pricey but a little goes a long way, and I know I will definitely repurchase when I run out.


*NYX Matte Makeup Setting Spray: I forgot to photograph it because I'm forgetful, as always, but I really like this stuff. I use if after my primer and before my lipstick, which is like the last step in my routine. It doesn't make my face appear wet or glowy, but it still removes the powdery look I sometimes get. And I *think* it does help with the oil control and whatnot, but maybe that's just me.


EYES


Wet n Wild Color Icon Comfort Zone Palette: I've wanted one for so long, so I finally picked one up. I haven't played with this too much, but the few times I did made me see why this is such a cult favorite.


Colourpop Super Shock Shadow in Supermodel: I didn't get a lot of Colourpop eyeshadows because despite the brand's sudden rise to stardom in the makeup world, I'm honestly not that impressed. I do, however, really like the shade Supermodel - a very glowy but soft highlight shade that can work for both eyes and face. I'll probably try a few more of their metallic shadows, but the mattes ain't doing anything for me.


L'Oreal Paris HiP Studio Secrets Professional Metallic Eye Shadow Duo in Charged​: Dang, that's a mouthful! I purchased this for the sole purpose of duping the NARS Isolde Duo Eyeshadow and although I will never know if it does, I love these eyeshadows nonetheless. See them in action in my first FOTD post.

L'Oreal Infallible Lacquer Liner 24H in Blackest Black: Yet another hand-me-down from my generous sister, but this is more of a replacement since she took mine two years ago without telling me. This is creamier and more pigmented than the Maybelline gel liner, so it makes more of a mess if you aren't great with eyeliner like I am.

BROWS


L'oreal Brow Stylist Plumper in Transparent: The Etude House Coloring Brow I took with me had begun to dry out, and to be honest, I made my brows look straight up brown against my dark hair - like I added varnish to them. So I got this as a replacement, but it still isn't all too great because the stopper doesn't do a very good job at controlling the right amount of product to dispense. So, the hunt for a decent brow gel continues.


NYX Eyebrow Cake Powder in Blonde: I obviously just got this from my sister because I couldn't have possibly hit pan on a product in three weeks. My sister has lusciously full brows so she only needed the light shade, and the remaining dark shade was passed down to me. And my sparse brows have been really loving it. I did get one for myself, but I'll be saving that for when I've hit pan on this one.

CHEEKS


Wet n Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Reserve Your Cabana: We all know this isn't a bronzer - it's a highlighter - and it's nice. Because my oily face has a tendency to highlight itself, I like how this very subtly gives my skin some glow and not streaks of metallic reflection. Plus it doesn't emphasize skin texture too much.


Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Sandstorm: You can tell I've put this in my makeup kit by looking at how beat-up it is. But it's really good! There's not a lot of coverage, but it does manage to keep my face matte for just a teeny-tiny bit longer than other powders. And I know this isn't a cheek product but it fit the frame, so yeah.


Milani Baked Blush in Luminoso: I used to own this blush but I didn't really like it at the time, and I ended up giving it away. But the makeup world / YouTube has been making me buy it. So I did. And I'm happy with my glowy peach cheeks.


Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush in Nude: I read somewhere that this was a dupe for something, but I forgot. This is really light so there is no actual blush that peaks through, but it does work nicely as a blush topper.

LIPS


Colourpop Lippie Stix in Brink: I initially bought two but I didn't like Frida that much so I let it go. Brink, on the other hand, is more my pace - it's deeper and dustier. I find the shape of the actual lipstick rather strange and I have mixed feelings about it; I'll let you know more in a review.


Wet n Wild MegaLast Lipsticks in Bare It All and Sugar Plum Fairy: The shades I got are popular dupes for MAC Velvet Teddy and Rebel. I'm not really gonna spend big money on shades I won't really use on a daily basis, so of course I opted for the inexpensive versions, and they're lovely.


Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lipsticks in Touch of Spice and Nude Nuance: I have been wanting Touch of Spice ever since these launched in the US, and even though some online shops sell them, this shade gets sold out so fast! So I got it and I love it, but then I picked up Nude Nuance and oh my goodness, is it perfect. It's pretty much the only thing I wore the entire vacation. Wait for the review and you'll see why.

LIPS (AGAIN)

Sephora Cream Lip Stain in Marvelous Mauve: I went to Sephora thrice to find this and let me tell you, it was worth it. BeautybyEmilyFox on YouTube made me buy this (Subscribe to her; she's adorable!) and I'm so happy I caved in! But this is the only shade in the collection that caught my eye, so hopefully Sephora expands the line because I want more!

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Bumble: Another "YouTube made me buy it" product (Aren't they all, really?), but this time it was KathleenLights and AprilAthena7 that convinced me to get it. Like with the Lippie Stix, I also have some reservations about the product itself, but the color is stunning and the lasting power is impressive.

NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick in Soft-Spoken: Before getting Maybelline Nude Nuance, this was all I wore on vacation. It's said to be a dupe for the Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita 2, but I learned about that when I got back. And dupe or not, I love this shade and this formula so much!

BH Cosmetics Liquid Lipstick in Clara: I had this on the first time I saw my boyfriend after the holidays and he's since called it my "mataray lipstick". It's the darkest lipstick I have but I really like it.

And despite the pretty sizeable haul, there are still some products I have yet to play with:


BH Cosmetics Carli Bybel Palette

Covergirl Super Sizer Waterproof Mascara (Star Wars edition)

L'Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes Waterproof Mascara

Rimmel Extra WOW Lash Mascara (from my sister)

Benefit Roller Lash Mascara

Essence All About Matt! Fixing Compact Powder

Ardelle Natural False Lashes No. 117

NYX Eyebrow Cake Powder in Taupe/Ash

Catrice Liquid Metal Eyeshadows in Under Treasure and We Are The Champagnes


I also picked up some products that didn't really work out or interest me when I actually saw them, so I'm listing them in my blog sale! You can click here to check that out, or visit the "Blog Sale" header in the menu bar at the top of my blog.


And that's it for my holiday vacation haul! Sorry for the very long post; I did way more makeup shopping than I expected, but don't I always? Hahaha. :)) Did you pick up or receive any new beauty goodies over the holidays? Tell me about it in the comments below! Also let me know if there are any products in particular that you'd like me to review first. I'd love to hear from you. Thanks again for dropping by and taking time to read my blog. Hope to write again soon. Till next time! Take care! :)


♥♥♥


All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

FOLLOW ME
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Bloglovin'
RSS Feed

SUBSCRIBE

ARCHIVES
RECENT POSTS

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

bottom of page