top of page

FOTD: Caramel Bronze

Hi everyone!

Happy new year! It's 2016 and I'm starting the year with an apology: I have been MIA for December and I am so sorry for being so late on the posts! I was out of the country over the holidays and although I had brought my flat lay background with me, I didn't really have time (or the inclination) to write because I was preoccupied with vacationing. I did have a blast and I picked up a bunch of makeup so expect the coming posts to be on a haul! But for now, I wanna share this makeup look I did last week:


I did very warm bronze eyes and glowy cheeks that can be paired with a neutral or bright lip. I used a miz of old and new products, and I really love how everything turned out. And instead of just listing down what products I used, I thought I'd share the process of how I put this look together, like a tutorial! This is going to be a bit long and photo-heavy, but it's really simple. So if you wanna know how I got this look, then please keep reading!


EYES

1. First, I used the Milani Eyeshadow Primer to prime my eyelids to prevent creasing or fading. Then, with a wide fluffy paddle brush, I used the third shade (matte pale peach) from the Sonia Kashuk Eye On Neutral 02 Palette to set my eye primer and give my eyeshadows a smooth canvas for easier blending.


2. I blended the No. 69 Eyeshadow (matte warm caramel) I got from Divisoria in my crease with a fluffy blending brush and built the intensity to my liking.


3. To add more depth, I took the seventh shade (a matte reddish brown) from the Sonia Kashuk palette and placed it on the outer third of my crease just above the darker shade. I went back to all the other shadows to build up the pigmentation to my liking and used a separate to blend everything out.


4. Next, I used the L'Oreal Paris HiP Studio Secrets Professional Metallic Eye Shadow Duo in Charged (Whew!). I placed the lighter shade (shimmery caramel bronze) all over my lid with a flat shader brush, similar to my crease color. Then to create a bit of dimension, I flipped the same brush and used the darker shade (less shimmery rusty copper with a black base) on the outer thirds of my eye.


5. For eyeliner, I used the Essence Long Lasting Eye Pencil in Black Fever on my upper lid and did a baby wing - I have slightly hooded eyes so thin eyeliner won't eat up lid space! The I used the Bourjois Regard Effet Metallise Metallic Eyeliner in Brun Inoxydable (metallic brown) to add definition to my waterline.


*Note: The following steps usually happen after my face routine, but I'm placing them here for the sake of continuity. :)


6. On my lower lashline, I used the same shades as in my crease - the reddish brown in the outer third and the warm caramel on the outer two thirds - and the shimmery warm light bronze in the inner third.


7. To highlight the browbone and inner corner, I used the matte pale peach with a wide fluffy paddle brush and topped that with the Colourpop Super Shock Shadow in Supermodel with a tiny paddle brush for extra glow. ;)


8. Then after curling my lashes, I used the Maybelline Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara to my top and bottom lashes.


FACE


1. After applying my skincare products and letting them set, I primed my face with the Rimmel Stay Matte Primer and a few spritzes of the NYX Matte Finish Makeup Setting Spray, waiting for about a minute in between products to let them set.


2. For my base, I opted for my HG Revlon Colorstay Whipped Foundation in Buff mixed with half a pump of the Maybelline Dream Satin Skin Foundation in B2 to add a bit of warmth and color, and applied it with a flat top kabuki brush all over my face. I used swirling motions to blend it out and tapping motions on specific areas to build coverage, and I avoided getting any foundation on my eyeshadow, brows and lips. I also blended down my neck to make sure it matched my face.


3. To conceal and highlight, I used the Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Sand Sable under my eyes, on the side of my nose and mouth, a bit on the bridge of my nose, and on any pesky spots on my face that I want to hide.


4. Then to set everything, I took a powder kabuki brush and pressed the Rimmel Stay Matte Setting Powder in Sandstorm all over my face and neck.



BROWS


1. After brushing my brows with a spoolie, I completely filled them in using the Daiso Eyebrow Pencil (I forgot what shade) and blended that out with the brush on the opposite end.


2. Next I took an angled eyeliner brush and the darker shade from the NYX Eyebrow Cake Powder in Blonde to fill any gaps and make my brows look fuller than they really are.


3. To set everything, I used the L'oreal Brow Stylist Plumper in Transparent. The stopper on this doesn't work too well, so I wipe off the brush on the back of my hand before brushing it through my brows. Then I go over any other gaps again with brow powder.



CHEEKS


1. Since my flat, round face needed some dimension, I used the Shawill Perfect Powder in 003 with an angled blush brush to contour the hollows of my cheeks, around my forehead (I don't have a wide forehead, I only hit the baby hairs surrounding my hairline), my jawline, and the bridge of my nose (I used my finger first and blended out with the brush).


2. I took the same brush with the Suesh Contour Pot in PC03 and blended that over my contour to bring more warmth to my face, excluding my nose. I made sure to hit my temples and my cheeks, but not below the contour.


3. To add that flush of color, I took the Milani Baked Blush in Luminoso layered with the Essence Silky Touch Blush in Natural Beauty and swirled those starting from my temples down to the apples of my cheeks.



LIPS


1. Finally, the lips. I used shade options: on my first try, I paired the look with the Colourpop Lippie Stix in Brink, which the website describes as "warm dusty taupe", but to my eyes and on my lips it's more of a nude pink.


2. On the day I actually wore it out, I used the Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Bumble, which the website describes as a "dusty warm terracotta". Again, a bit off on me, because it looks a lot more red. Check out the whole look!

Here's my first attempt at the look with Brink. Does that look like taupe to you? Yeah, I didn't think so either.

The following day, I recreated the look again, this time with Bumble. Yes, I took photos on the bus, with a bunch of other people around me. And yes, I have no shame. :P

And that's it for this makeup look! I hope this post was informative and fun for you guys. Let me know if you like this kind of post, because I'm planning to do more in the future if you don't mind. I hope you have a wonderful day ahead. Take care!

♥♥♥

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

FOLLOW ME
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Bloglovin'
RSS Feed

SUBSCRIBE

ARCHIVES
RECENT POSTS

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

bottom of page