top of page

Review: Maybelline ColorShow Lipsticks + Creamy Matte Lipcolors

Hi everyone!


I've taken another week-long hiatus for work, this time to Baguio. I've only been there once before with my family and I was sick as heck, so I didn't really enjoy it. This time, I was really excited for the colder weather because if you guys have read any of my reviews or posts about foundation, y'all would know I'm a sweaty, oily mess. However, my expectations were completely let down because Baguio was just as hot as Metro Manila from 9-5, and I perspired buckets just the same. And it's already November! On the flipside, the event was a success and I had a blast with my team, so I guess it's not all bad.


Now that I'm back, I'll try to chuck out more posts in the next weeks, especially when I'm off work in December. To start, I'll be reviewing lipsticks yet again, and these are probably the best and most affordable I’ve tried: the Maybelline ColorShow Lipsticks and Creamy Matte Lipcolors.


These lipsticks come housed in black, rectangular plastic packaging with a colored transparent centerpiece that indicates which color family the lipstick belongs to - peach/nude, red, pink, and purple/plum. The two formulas in this line - the original ColorShow and the ColorShow Creamy Matte Lipcolor - are distinguishable based on their packaging: the original has shiny packaging, while the other has matte packaging.


Underneath this is a sticker in a color similar to the actual lipstick bullet that includes the brand name, product name, manufacturing information, shade number and shade name. This makes it easy to identify which shade you're getting, especially if you're the type to store your lipsticks vertically. These stickers also help identify which formula the lipstick has. As for the products themselves, both formulas are hydrating and wear comfortably on the lips, and retail for Php 165; they mostly differ in finish and shade selection.


The original ColorShow formula has a gel-like texture which gives full pigmentation with a shiny translucent finish, which means it can be built up and layered several times to full color but will never reach full opacity. I personally don't mind this because it gives a more natural lip-stained look. The shades I have are Nude Mocha (terracotta with a bit of pink - personal favorite), Red My Lips (warm red) and Plum Perfect (plum with a hit of pink). All three shades do not contain shimmer, and feel very moisturizing on my lips. These feel a bit thinner and more hydrating than the ColorSensational lipsticks, but that's just my opinion.


On the other hand, the ColorShow Creamy Matte Lipcolor formula has an opaque soft matte texture that has a bit of slip but hardly reflects any light. I say "soft matte" because I find true matte lipsticks to reflect zero light and have a really dry look/feel to them ala-MAC Ruby Woo, which I personally hate. Thankfully, these feel so creamy and comfortable to wear that I forget they're supposed to be matte. The shades I have are Lively Violet (muted lavender-pink - personal favorite) and Madly Magenta (purple-leaning magenta with fine gold shimmer). Also, if anyone's wondering, I find these to perform better than the Maybelline Bold Mattes, which felt a bit too waxy for my taste. Check out the swatches:

From left to right: Nude Mocha, Red My Lips, Plum Perfect, Lively Violet and Madly Magenta. As mentioned earlier, the first three have a shiny gel-like texture whereas the last two have an opaque matte texture. Did I mention the scent reminds me of gummy candy? These make me crave gummy bears every time I use them. Ugh, whyyyyyyy?


These lipsticks are locally available, but seem to be exclusive only to Asia; I haven't seen any reviews about them from American or European blogs. I've also seen swatches of some gorgeous shades in blogs from other Asian countries that are unavailable in the Philippines (you can check them out here and here). I'm honestly quite miffed that beauty brands do geographically-targeted releases and make limitations as to what products/shades should be made available in a country. Beauty trends all over the world are constantly changing and should be catered to with a wider variety of options. But hey, that's just the opinion of a lipstick addict.


And that's it for this review! I really missed blogging and I'll try to be more consistent with it. Have you tried any lipsticks from the Maybelline ColorShow line? What do you think, and which shades are your favorites? I'd love to hear from you, so leave a comment down below. Take care and thanks for reading. Till next time! Bye! :)


♥♥♥


All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

FOLLOW ME
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Bloglovin'
RSS Feed

SUBSCRIBE

ARCHIVES
RECENT POSTS

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

bottom of page