top of page

Monthly Favorites: October 2015


Hi everyone!

I honestly feel like the last month just blew past me. I've been so busy with work and I got injured for six days after that I actually missed two weeks of blogging. SORRY! And with the holidays approaching, or already upon us here in the Philippines, I'll also be pretty busy in the next few weeks. So before I get stumped with work, I thought I'd take time to share my beauty favorites for the month of October:



FACE


I raved about the 4U2 dreamGirl Faith BB Cream in my review, so it shouldn't be a surprise that it's on top of the list. Except for the scent, I love everything else about this product: the buildable light to medium coverage, good shade match, matte finish, decent staying power, functional packaging, and affordable price. Hoard-worthy Holy Grail-status BB cream right here.


For skincare, I've been liking the Belo Sun Expect Face Cover SPF 40 PA+++ because this dries quicker with a matte finish, which I think fits better with my oily skin and rushed morning routine. I already take quite a while to finish my face, so a faster-setting sunscreen helps a lot when saving time.


Another skincare love is the Safeguard Derma Sense Facial Cleanser for Acne Prone Skin, which has done so much to help cure my acne while keeping my skin smooth and moisturized. I cannot say enough good things about it, but do check out my review to know more about my skin savior. :)



EYES


Although I haven't been wearing eyeshadow at all, I still need to hide my panda eyes, and I've been doing that with some help from the Essence I ♥ Stage Eyeshadow Base. This primer goes on very smooth and with a slight tint, so it helps to correct and camouflage veins and discoloration. I can also wear this under foundation to prevent creasing or fading on my oily lids. And FYI, it works great for eyeshadows, too. I'm quite close to running out, so I will have to repurchase soon.


For my brows, I've been using this really cute Daiso eyebrow pencil. It's similar to a lot of eyebrow pencils nowadays, with a retractable flat pencil on one side and a bristle brush on the other. I find this has a very unique texture; unlike other brow pencils that feel waxy, creamy or too hard, it feels dry but smooth when applied, like a brow powder in pencil form. It's so strange but I love it! The last Daiso eyebrow pencil I liked went out of stock really fast, so I will definitely buy a couple of backups.


Last for the eyes is the L'oreal Voluminous Butterfly Intenza Waterproof Mascara, which I mentioned as a favorite a couple months back on Instagram. This doesn't give as much dramatic volume as the L'oreal Voluminous Miss Manga Rock from last month's favorites, but I love how long and fluttery my lashes are when I have this on. I apply one generous coat for a natural look, but I sometimes add a bit above my lashes for more volume.



CHEEKS


The cooler weather seems to have left me a bit pale lately, so I've gone back to the bronzer game with the Suesh Contour Powder Pan in PC04. I originally bought this to use as eyeshadow, but now I prefer using it to warm up my skin, and bring back a bit of shape and dimension to my rounded face.


For color, I've been digging the pinks. First, the Jordana Powder Blush in Rose Silk is a matte mauve-pink that complements my mauve, berry, or purple-leaning lipsticks. I gave this to my mom a while back, but when I saw she wasn't using it, I re-adopted and rediscovered just how pretty it looks.


Second is the NYX Powder Blush in Mocha, which is a misnomer because there's nothing really coffee-based about the shade. This matte rosy pink blush goes well with pretty much any warm-toned lipstick, and I wore this the most throughout the month. NYX powder blushes are smooth and super pigmented, so a little goes a long way - I've had this for a long time and I haven't even dented the quilted pattern.



LIPS


Matte lips took over my October, and I have four favorites to share! My most worn lipstick for the month was the Golden Rose Velvet Matte Lipstick in No. 12, a medium rose berry shade with a hint of brown mentioned in my makeup swap post. On me, it looks both bright and deep at the same time, and I love wearing it to add warmth and bring life to my face.


Next is the Maybelline Color Show Creamy Matte Lip Color in Lively Violet - another misnomer because I find it very demure. Based on my limited color description prowess, it looks like a very muted pink with a hint of lavender. I find that this line of lipsticks apply, feel, and perform better on the lips than the Bold Matte line, and they're cheaper too. Plus all Maybelline Color Show lipsticks smell like gummy candies! YUMMY!


The last lipstick was also part of the makeup swap, and it's the Pinkies Collections Matte Lipstick in Bark. This warm mauve-pink-brown is now my current go-to shade because it pairs well with any look (and probably on any skintone). It applies very smooth without any tugging, and feels lightweight on the lips. It doesn't particularly dry or emphasize dryness, but I still like wearing a balm underneath, as will any lipstick.


My final product for this post is the Essence Longlasting Lipliner in Creamy Frappuccino, which is my understanding / limit of what "greige" is. It looks super warm in the swatch but it's also a bit cool. When worn, it's a slightly deeper mavey brown with a hint of plum and gray - it has that slightly dead but still beautiful look to it. I know I'm confusing but I really have no idea how to describe the shade; all I know is I love it and that's what matters, right?


Swatches below from top to bottom: Golden Rose, Maybelline, Pinkies Collections, Essence. ALL SO PRETTY.



And that's it for my October favorites! Comment down below what your favorites were for the last month and let me know if I should do a more in-depth review on any of mine. Also, how you feel about the new background? Is it nice, or should I go back to the polka dots, or should I get a new one? Let me know! I would love to read your feedback and suggestions. Till my next post! Bye! :)


♥♥♥

Disclaimer: All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

FOLLOW ME
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Bloglovin'
RSS Feed

SUBSCRIBE

ARCHIVES
RECENT POSTS

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

bottom of page