top of page

Review: Safeguard Derma Sense Facial Cleanser + My Acne Story

Hi everyone!

In my last Monthly Favorites, I briefly mentioned that I developed acne last November. At the time, I was using a heavy coverage foundation and wasn't regularly exfoliating my face, which caused my pores to clog and blackheads to develop. To get rid of them, I visited a spa close my house that offered reasonably-priced facials. Everything went smoothly and I thought it was a rather pleasant experience until the next day, when I woke up to find every extraction on my entire face had been replaced with red, angry, puss-filled pimples. I don't know what part of that facial process caused my acne, but I've never had one again.


Since then, I spent every waking moment researching and trying different cleansers, creams, toners, ointments and what have you to clear my skin. A couple of them worked in reducing the size and quantity of my pimples, but the clusters always returned. Then a few months back, I saw an ad on YouTube about the Safeguard Derma Sense Facial Cleanser for Acne Prone Skin. I've never really heard about it before, and there was only one review where the girl trying it out already had pretty good skin to begin with. But because I was desperate and willing to try anything, I did. After using it for only two days, it changed my skin and was immediately given Holy Grail status.



This cleanser is packaged in a simple white squeeze tube with a red flip cap, and comes in two quantities: a 50 mL tube that costs Php 119.00 and a 100 mL tube that costs Php 190.00; both are available in most department stores and grocery stores. I purchased the larger one for daily use and have repurchased several tubes already, but I also got a smaller one to bring with me when I travel.




The product itself is a white creamy formula that, when applied to damp skin, doesn't really lather up. Despite this lack of suds, it leaves my skin feeling clean, moisturized and silky soft after every wash. Another thing I like about this cleanser is that a little goes a long way, since I only need half the amount of the swatch above to cleanse both my face and neck; a 100 mL bottle lasts me roughly two months when used twice daily.



This cleanser WORKS SO WELL. I think it's because it contains Salicylic acid which, according to the Mario Badescu website, is a "keratolytic" that "can penetrate into the pore to dissolve dead skin cell build up and encourages the shedding of the top layer of skin which prevents the pores from becoming congested." Salicylic acid seems spot-on for my skin since clogged pores is what started my acne in the first place.


After using the Safeguard Derma Sense Cleanser for half the year, my skin has exponentially improved. THIS IS THE BEST CLEANSER I'VE EVER TRIED AND I WILL LOVE IT FOR LIFE. I do use it in tandem with other skincare items, but all of those came when my acne was already healed, so I know this is my true skin savior. And although I still get the occasional breakout during that time of the month or when I'm especially stressed out from work, I can still say that I am finally acne-free! :D


I don't have before and after photos of my bare skin, but I do have a selfie from last Christmas where you can clearly see the clusters of pimples on my forehead vs. my skin today (the acne on rest of my face wasn't flared up because it wasn't that time of the month):




It may not seem like a big deal, but having acne was extremely difficult for me. My self-confidence dropped to rock bottom. It also didn't help when my own family, friends and even strangers commented about my skin's condition, most of it unkindly. It got to the point where I would look at myself in the mirror and cry at how ugly my skin looked.


The only person who seemed to understand and support me was Arlan, who experienced and survived acne in his college days. We were just friends at the time and he never made a comment when he saw bare face. He also must have really loved me, because we started dating even when my skin wasn't clear yet, and he has always made me feel pretty. So if you're reading this, I thank you and I love you from the bottom of my heart.


And that's it for this post! Do you have a Holy Grail-status skin savior? Leave a comment down below and let me know your story. Also, please follow me on Bloglovin' if you don't mind - it would mean so much to me. Till next time! :)


♥♥♥


Disclaimer: All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.



Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

FOLLOW ME
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Bloglovin'
RSS Feed

SUBSCRIBE

ARCHIVES
RECENT POSTS

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

bottom of page