top of page

Haul: Makeup Swap with Vivien + Tips

Hi everyone!

As I mentioned in my last entry, I had a recent makeup swap with @vivien.fayer, one of my friends on Instagram who shares the same love / addiction with makeup. She's got a pretty sweet collection and feed, and she's really pretty too, so check her out! :> We've done two swaps so far: the first was an exchange of beauty products we were no longer using, and the most recent was similar except we set a Php 1,000 budget to get each other makeup we wanted and a gift. I've never bought makeup for someone else, so we both made lists of locally available products we were eyeing to help each other out. Here's what I received:


FACE

All face items I received are brand new. The first is the Bobbie Cosmetics Two-Be-Fair BB Cream in Creamy Rose, which Vivien personally used and recommended. After trying it out once, I think it's rather nice. It has light to medium coverage with a dewy finish and is a bit deeper than my skintone; it reminded me a lot of the Maybelline Dream Satin Skin foundation I mentioned in my September favorites, but cheaper. This has a perfume-like scent which some might find bothersome, but I didn't really mind and it made my foundation brush smell rather nice.


Next, she got me the 4U2 dreamGirl Faith BB Cream in Universal Shade because the foundation I originally asked for was out of stock in the five malls she visited. To be honest, I was skeptical about the claims of a "universal shade", but this surprisingly matched me well compared to the first BB cream. However, I have a pretty fair complexion, so I don't know how "universal" this might turn out on deeper skintones. Both BB creams are similar in coverage and finish, but I think I like this better. Also, it might just be me, but it has a chemical smell that's not bad but not good either. It did go away once I wore it, but just putting it out there.


Vivien also got me the Artist Studio Slanted Blush Brush, which she said was a better version of a similar brush I wanted from Bobbie Cosmetics. I've heard about how nice Artist Studio brushes are, but I don't know where else to find them other than the really far away from me Landmark Mall. I've seen YouTube beauty gurus use this style of brush for applying contour, bronzer and blush, and a multi-tasker would be great for saving time in makeup application and brush cleaning. However, I don't find it does a good job applying blush compared to my current and favorite blush brush from Marionnaud, but I liked using it for the other two.


Lastly, she got me a The Face Shop New Zealand Volcanic Clay Black Head Aloe Nose Strip - goodness, that was a mouthful. I haven't tried this one out yet, but I'll let you know how it works when I do.

EYES

One of Vivien's pre-owned items I asked for was this sample eyeshadow quad of Guerlain Ombre Éclat 4 Couleurs in 441 Brun Mordoré. I'm glad blog posts are written because I might have butchered that name if I had to read it aloud. This beautiful quad contains four shimmery shades - a soft light gold, a medium warm taupe, a rich warm brown (my favorite), and a deeper cool-toned brown. These look like they belong in my I ♥ Makeup Naked Chocolate palette, which is why I know I'll love them.


Another pre-owned item is this extremely adorable Daiso false lashes case. These are really hard to find - I've only seen one in personal - so I'm really glad I got this even though I don't own a single pair of falsies. I guess I have an excuse to get some now. Hahaha :))


She also got me a pack of Femme Cosmetic Buds, which are similar to regular cotton buds but one end has a pointed tip. Although they're multi-purpose, I mostly use these for cleaning up my eyeliner, so I included it in this section.

LIPS

One lipstick I was excited about was the Pinkies Collections matte lipstick in Bark is a really beautiful dusty mauve with a smooth, soft and non-slip finish. I don't feel like this particularly dries my lips out when I wear it, but it feels more comfortable with a bit of balm underneath. Of all the lippies I got, this is my favorite.


The most awaited lipstick was the Golden Rose Velvet Matte lipstick in No. 12. Golden Rose is a European brand introduced in the Philippines fairly recently, and I think it's currently only available in the also really far away from me SM Megamall. I've wanted to try this lipstick since I first it on some local beauty Instagram accounts I follow, and it really is a nice lipstick with a velvet matte finish. However, I have two issues: first, the cap on this doesn't click shut so it feels a bit flimsy; and second, this shade is really similar to the Wet n' Wild Megalast lipstick in In The Flesh, which I already have. I still like it, though.


I've only swatched the next three on my lips, but I already have some first impressions. The City Color City Chic lipstick in Midnight Kiss is a creamy vampy red shade that I don't think I'll ever successfully wear full-on, but I like it sheered out and worn as a stain. Next, the Wet n' Wild Megalast lipstick in Just Peachy is a bright peach that leans a bit neon on my lips, which again is a bit hard for me to wear. Maybe it would pair better with a dark smoky eye. Last, the Buxom Lip Gloss in Monica is a shimmery peachy-orange shade that feels a bit sticky to the touch. I haven't used this on my lips because I'm not a fan of putting shimmers there, but I'll give it a chance and play with it soon.

MISCELLANEOUS

Vivien was also nice enough to include a brochure from Pink Sugar Cosmetics (I told her once I was curious about it) and a notebook for my makeup wishlists, as well as package everything in this darling pink and white polka-dotted makeup pouch. SO ADORABLE!



TIPS


Now, I've done makeup exchanges several times, so I've developed a standard how to go about it. With that said, I thought I'd also include some tips when it comes to makeup swapping. Do take note that there are no established rules in makeup swapping and I am NOT claiming that my way is the right way do to it. These are just personal guidelines I follow so I and the person I'm swapping with both have an enjoyable experience. Let's start:


1. HONESTY IS THE BEST POLICY. This has got to be the most cliché motto, but it's true. I try to be as honest, open and descriptive as I can when it comes to the makeup items I put up for exchange. I even take photos. If the product has been used once, several times, swatched, only has a certain amount remaining, has some damage to it, or whatever - these are details I give if the person I'm swapping with asks or if it's a big deal regarding the condition of the product. No one likes being lied to, so I'm not gonna do that.


2. QUALITY AND QUANTITY. I know "one man's trash is another man's treasure", but I will never literally choose five of the crappiest items from my stash and give them to someone else. Before I commit to a makeup swap, I make sure I have a good number of items up for exchange, and I make sure they're of decent quality. Furthermore, if the other person only picks a few things from my side, I comb through my personal collection to add more things she can choose from. Having few and poor selections in a makeup store sucks, so I apply the same idea when it comes to a makeup swap.


3. GIVE AND TAKE. While there are no known limits to how much you can get in a makeup swap, I personally try to give as much as I receive. Most of my makeup has been purchased with personal funds, which means I worked hard for that, so I think it's only fair that I get about the same amount of stuff as I give out.


4. CLEANLINESS IS NEXT TO GODLINESS. Once the other person has selected the items she wants, I make sure they're clean. And it doesn't have to be spotless, but I take a disinfecting wipe and clean the packaging inside and out, and I disinfect the lipsticks by swatching the top layer on a clean part of my hand then spraying the bullet with alcohol and letting it dry. I personally keep my makeup clean anyway, so this is a must for me.


5. FOLLOW THE GOLDEN RULE. The tried and true saying of "do unto others as you want others to do unto you" applies to everything, even makeup swaps. I don't want people to deceive me, give me their crap, take more than what they give, and send me dirty makeup, so I make sure that I don't do that to anyone else.


And that's it for this post! I hope my first impressions and makeup swap tips were helpful - if anyone actually reads my blog. Haha. :)) If you have any personal experiences or tips you'd like to share about makeup swaps, please leave me a comment down below. Till next time! Bye!


♥♥♥

Disclaimer: All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

FOLLOW ME
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Bloglovin'
RSS Feed

SUBSCRIBE

ARCHIVES
RECENT POSTS

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

bottom of page