top of page

Review: I ♥ Makeup "I Heart Chocolate" Palette

Hi everyone!


Welcome to my new blog! This is my third foray into blogging and this time, I'll try my hardest to keep at it. I lost the drive during my first two attempts simply because I had no clear-cut idea as to what I wanted to write about, but now I do - MAKEUP. I've a bit of a collection (or obsession, to be exact) and since not a lot of people I know share the same enthusiasm on the same level, and since I'm very madaldal / talkative, I figured I'll just share all my thoughts here.


I'll start with one of my absolute favorites - the I ♥ Makeup I Heart Chocolate palette.


I ♥ Makeup is a brand under Makeup Revolution, which originates from the UK. This brand came out in 2014 and released a lot of products that some would consider "dupes" for expensive makeup brands. One of the most notable to my memory is the I Heart Chocolate palette. I remember losing my marbles when I saw this particular palette on the Makeup Revolution Instagram page, as it looked so similar to the then very popular Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette. I don’t own that, but even by looking at the packaging, you can tell MUR was inspired ​​by Too Faced (photo borrowed from the Sephora website).

Some people don’t like obvious/intentional dupes because they can be considered “knockoffs” riding on the prestige and work that went into making high-end makeup. However, I think dupes aren’t knockoffs since they don’t claim to be exactly like the brand they’re trying to mimic. Instead, their products are “similar” but more affordable alternatives for people who, like myself, can’t afford to shell out $30+ for a single eyeshadow palette.


I personally think Makeup Revolution is amazing for coming out with these dupes. They're not fake; just inspired. Yes, high-end cosmetics have a more luxurious look, feel and performance, but I just can't fathom spending that much money for just one thing if I can get something that is also of good quality for a lot cheaper. I also feel like I get more bang for my buck: 1 expensive palette = 2-3 inexpensive palettes. Besides, I'm a drugstore makeup girl by heart. You feeling me? But I digress. Back to the review!


I purchased this palette from @beautyshopph after suggesting they look into the brand and become a reseller. At the time, it sold for Php 750 + a shipping fee of Php 110; they have since raised the price to Php 800 with the same shipping fee. You can also check out @designerdepotph for Makeup Revolution and I ♥ Makeup products - same prices but with free shipping to Metro Manila. Yey!


When I first got this palette, it looked a lot nicer and less knocked-up than this. Hahaha :))) It came with a plastic insert that contained all the eyeshadow names and a dual-ended sponge applicator, both of which I discarded since I didn't think I'd really need them. It includes a full-sized mirror that has been so handy when doing my makeup. Besides looking like a delicious chocolate bar, this particular palette also smells like sweets, which I didn't notice until I smelled a different palette from Makeup Revolution that smelled like nothing.

The I Heart Chocolate palette consists of 16 eyeshadows in 3 different finishes: 6 shimmers, 6 mattes, and 3 glitter-mattes. First, the shimmers seem to be the weakest finish in this palette. Really weird since shimmer is usually the easiest formula to get right, but I find their texture a bit hard, making them weakly pigmented and not easily buildable when applied with a brush. Maybe I'm using a bad brush? However, they perform a lot better when I use my fingers to pat them on my lid, which is my preferred method of application when it comes to shimmers, anyway. The weakest of all is the shimmery purple (fifth - middle row), which doesn't show up that much unless helped with a purple base. Other than that, all other shimmers apply and layer easily with a beautiful sheen.


Next, I find the matte shades to be my favorite finish because they're all beautifully pigmented and blendable, except the chalky light pink (fourth - middle row), and I use almost every matte shade in any look. Even high-end brands have difficulties nailing this finish and I ♥ Makeup did them beautifully. Like the shimmers, they're a bit hard and dry so they don't swatch as nicely, but they work well with brushes. I'll probably hit pan on these first, but I'll happily repurchase. :) I particularly love two: the cream shade (first - top row) is my go-to brow highlight / blending shade, and the light orangey-brown shade (first - middle row) is my go-to crease / transition shade.


Lastly, the glitter-mattes (matte base with glitters running through it / I don't know what finish they're actually called) are just as pigmented albeit not as blendable, probably due to the glitters, but a little patience and elbow grease helps the blending process. The most unique shades in this palette are glitter-mattes: a matte deep plum with gold glitter (fourth - top row) and a matte burgundy with red, blue and silver glitter (fourth - bottom row). I love using them in my crease for adding warmth and depth, or all over the lid for creating a smoky eye.


Here's a look I did before using my I Heart Makeup palette (please excuse my unruly brows - this was before I got into the habit of grooming them):



And that's it for my first review! I hope you enjoyed reading as much as I did writing, and I hope you come back for more - I plan to post at least once a week. Leave me some feedback to help me improve my blogging, but please be nice about it. Take care! Bye! :)


P.S. I leave captions on my photos, so check those out if you're viewing in PC. :>

♥♥♥


Disclaimer: All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

FOLLOW ME
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
Bloglovin'
RSS Feed

SUBSCRIBE

ARCHIVES
RECENT POSTS

Jenine is a chubby chinita makeup enthusiast from the Philippines. These are her beauty (mis)adventures. 

 

All opinions and photos on this blog are my own, and all products reviewed have been purchased with my own personal funds, unless stated otherwise.  

bottom of page